Jin Se Yeon of Bridal Mask : a Cinderella story

As we know, Bridal Mask had difficulty to find its cast because many actors and actresses were hesitant to play as the drama centers on anti Japanese occupation during 1930s.


That’s probably the reason why Bridal Mask cast a relatively new face Jin Se Yun to play the leading lady, Mok Dan.
And it’s like a cinderella story for 19-year-old rookie actress Jin Se Yun to grab the main role of a such big budget drama.

When Bridal Mask aired, many viewers still didn’t know who’s the girl who play the brave Mok Dan. Although Jin Se Yun already played the leading lady for SBS daily night drama, My Daughter Kkotnim, but she’s not an A-list actress.

In the recent interview with Newsen, Jin Se Yun said that she was surprised and stunned when she heard she got the role. She said ,”When I met the producers, I was still in the middle of shooting SBS’ My Daughter Kkotnim. Therefore I wasn’t expecting to much. I was overwhelmed when I was chosen as the main character of the previous project (My Daughter Kkotnim), but lead role of Bridal Mask really caught me off guard so I was stunned”.

The character of Mok Dan, a brave girl who works in a circus requires high skills in acting and action, that’s why Jin Se Yun was quite worried as she said,” I was worried. It was quite confusing for me to understand the tone of Mok Dan in the early stages of shooting because at that time I was so into my previous character Kkotnim”.

Although many people called her cinderella now as she nabs the leading lady for such a prestigious drama, Jin Se Yun never dreamed to be an actress.
She was known as ‘Yoona from Jamwon’ during highschool, she would attend events pretended to be the famous Yoona of SNSD and she then received many love calls from entertainment agency.

Jin Se Yun said ,” There were several times when I had opportunities to be a singer, but an actress never crossed my mind. I luckily was chosen as a model for commercials. I was happy when the commercials were aired on TV and printed in newspapers. When I was shooting commercials, many people suggested me to try acting. I thought at that time that acting was boring because all I have to do is memorizing the lines. But when I finally took acting lessons, I started to enjoy it”.

Jin Se Yun’s early acting jobs were small roles in SBS’ drama It’s Okay Daddy’s Girl and movie White : Curse of Melody. And she said that she learnt many things for that experience.
Her next job was MBC’s drama The Duo which strengthened her acting foundation.
Jin Se Yun finally took her first leading role in daily drama My Daughter Kkotnim and the drama allowed her to experience a lot of joy. She said ,” I loved meeting new people and observed other cast’s acting. The fun of the job is that we work together”.

In the end of the interview, Jin Se Yun said ,” While I was acting, I feel that my job is to be an actress. I came out of nowhere and got the lead role. There’s a lot of opportunity for people to dislike me but all the drama’s staffs, actors and acting teachers approached me with love. I want to show the audience a different side of Kkotnim through Bridal Mask. It would be my goal to deliver a matured actress”.

(c) Newsen via Koreanvibe

Source: Bridal Mask’s facebook

2 thoughts on “Jin Se Yeon of Bridal Mask : a Cinderella story

  1. I’ve been browsing online more than 3 hours these days, yet I never found any fascinating article like yours. It’s pretty value sufficient for me.
    In my opinion, if all webmasters and bloggers made good content material as
    you probably did, the net will be a lot more useful
    than ever before.

Leave a Reply

