“Looks forward to acting with Joo Won again. (Joo Won’s) weird habit, fond of touching people”

Choi Kang Hee’s Sina Entertainment Interview

Spring has completely swept away the bitter cold of winter. Perhaps Korean actress Choi Kang Hee has been feeling the fullness of spring’s arrival that she is always smiling and greeting in a soft and gentle manner. This comfortable feeling is also because Choi Kang Hee is warm like Spring itself. After <7th Level Civil Servant> ended, Choi Kang Hee had travelled to Gyeongju. It has always felt unhurried and at ease meeting with her.

On the 16th May, Choi Kang Hee appears in the movie <Mina’s Stationery Shop> where she plays Mina, a civil servant who has to take over a stationery shop when the situation was suddenly forced upon her. She had already completed the filming last year and right after, she filmed <7th Level Civil Servant>. When the drama ended, she immediately worked nonstop doing promotions. Although she expressed that this will enable her to step out of the character at once, but till now, she is unable to truly walk away from the drama character.

During the interview, more than <Mina’s Stationery Shop>, Choi Kang Hee talks more about the team on <7th Level Civil Servant> who always supported and encouraged each other. Especially of Joo won who has called her “The Best Partner”, she was full of praises. Choi Kang Hee revealed: “Together with the <7LCS> team and Joo won, we wanted to go on a holiday. Joo Won was in charge of making the travel plans. In the beginning we started a group chat and asked everyone to cast a vote, it became a really hot topic. However because we could not agree on the timing, so everyone decided that whoever who wishes to come or leave, just do so and we set the dates on Wed, Thurs and Fri. But in those 3 days, I, Joo Won and Son Jin Young were the only ones who hang around. In the chatroom, Son Jin Young had said: “Why do I feel that there will only be the 3 of us?” I didn’t believe him and thought that everyone would come. But as it turned out, it was really only the 3 of us. We even took sad pictures of ourselves and had fun.”

Jang Young Nam had wanted to come but had to leave because of work. In the end, Joo Won, Choi Kang Hee and Son Jin Young decided to go to a karaoke in the city. They chat, listened to music, watched movies and spent a leisurely time together. CKH said: “Joo Won cannot touch a drop of alcohol. Although he was very quiet, he loves to touch people, just like a younger sister. After chatting for 3 days, I discovered that Joo Won will not touch someone he likes. But towards his hyungs and noonas, he frequently touches them, he is also like that towards me.

Although Joo Won and Son Jin Young’s faces are different, their past love relationships are fundamentally the same.

When heard that “Joo Won is very sensible and also loves to cry”, she nodded her head: “Very fond of crying. There were times we had to stop filming because his tears just kept flowing. As a girl, I feel embarrassed but an actor’s tears can also be uncontrollable. That’s why Joo Won is said to be a very pure person.”

Previously, in interviews Joo Won expressed that he has learned innocence and warmth from Choi Kang Hee. To this, CKH laughed, saying: I don’t know why he said this, I even asked him about it. Joo Won and I share many similarities. First, we do not like the atmosphere on the film set to feel distant, filled with ambitions or always competing for various things also gives me a lot of stress. I also hate those who do not respect their elders.”

Jokingly self-professing to be Joo Won’s spokesman, CKH revealed: “I thought that Joo Won would only like me as his partner but I had a shock after reading his interviews recently, I really didn’t know. Frequently, he would pull my arm and called me Noona or leaned towards me, I will always say he is very cute and just treat him as my great source of comfort. I am very thankful that he said so much good things about me.”

When the casting of <7th Level Civil Servant> was confirmed, many people wondered if Joo Won and Choi Kang Hee who have an age gap of 10 years between them, are able to pull it off. However, after the drama was broadcast, both wowed the audience with their chemistry to the point that people suspected that they might be dating.

Looking back, was there ever a movie or drama where by Choi Kang Hee did not have chemistry with her co-stars? Be it “Noona-dongsaeng love” with Ji Hyun Woo or Lee Seon Gyeon or Ji Sung. She has always attracted the attention of viewers with her onscreen romance with her co-stars. She said: “I heard that Joo Won also had the same thinking, Usually after I complete a drama, I would maintain a friendly disposition towards my co-star, I will also loathe it when the drama ends. But before that, I will try my best to bring the feelings to the maximum. I do not do this just to please everyone and then in reality, after the drama ends while chatting with friends, I will complain about the lack of response from the other party when I was doing my best. Neither will I just play my part or put in just 70% of my effort while acting. I will never be like these and neither will Joo Won nor Bong Tae Gu who I partner this time. We will always put in more effort in our scenes than if we were just acting by ourselves, only by doing so we are able to achieve good results.”

Hence, Choi Kang Hee hopes for an opportunity to work with Joo Won again, fulfilling her wish that did not materialized in <7th Level Civil Servant>. It was also because of this that Choi Kang Hee who usually does not participate in variety shows, appeared in KBS2 <1N2D> as Joo Won’s best friend. She said: “I have some regrets with regards to the drama so I hope to be able to work with Joo Won again. Of course, I do not want to play someone who’s the same age as him like we did in <7th Level Civil Servant> but maybe a’ noona-dongsaeng romance’ or as brother and sister, the quarrelsome, bickering type. “

credit: keailaosu1986 on Joo Won Baidu

source: http://ent.sina.com.cn/v/j/k/2013-05-07/15253914864.shtml

English translation: mrdimples@soompi

3 thoughts on ““Looks forward to acting with Joo Won again. (Joo Won’s) weird habit, fond of touching people”

  1. refers to someone he likes, I see JW as Taehee Ahjussi ^_^ but refers to maknae/dongsaeng/hoobae, JW is JW.. kindhearted, never ending cutenesses, and lovely namja. cannot touch a drop of alcohol, that’s the greatest part of him as a Korean actor. Most of them love drinking alcohol, especially when they celebrate things. but JW will end up sleeping right after drinking alcohol.. LOL

    • agree with U .. , and since now I getting know more about his personality I became his big fan , joo won❤❤

Leave a Reply

